Cardinal's Page Bishop's Page Retired Bishop's Page


His Excellency
Archbishop of Cotabato
Archbishop's Residence, Cotabato City
Tel. (064) 421-2918   Fax (064) 421-1446


Birth: March 11, 1939
Place of Birth: Laoag, Ilocos Norte
Sacerdotal Ordination: June 5, 1964 Washington, DC, USA
Episcopal Ordination: October 28, 1980 Kidapawan, Cotabato


    * Grade 1-3
      Laoag Shamrock School
    * Laoag, Ilocos Norte, 1945-1947 Grade 4-6
      Marbel Central Elementary School
      Marbel, South Cotabato, 1947-1950
    * Year 1-4
      Notre Dame of Marbel High School
      Marbel, South Cotabato, 1950-1954
    * Special College
      San Jose Seminary
      Quezon City, 1954-1956
    * Novitiate
      St. Peter's Novitiate
      Mission, Texas, 1956-1957
    * Philosophy
      San Jose Seminary
      Quezon City, 1957-1960
    * STB, MA Religious Education
      Oblate College (Catholic University of America)
      Washington, DC, 1960-1964
    * Post Graduate Studies in Educational Management
      University of Sto. Tomas
    * Theology of Religious Life
      St. Louis University
      Missouri, 1976-1977


    * 1964- Asst. Parish Priest, Cotabato Cathedral
    * 1964-1968- Professor, Notre Dame College/University, Cotabato City
    * 1965-1966- Dean of Studies, Arhdiocesan Seminary, Cotabato City
    * 1966-1968- Dean of Student Affairs, Notre Dame University, Cotabato City
    * 1969-1970- Vice-Rector for Academic Affairs, Notre Dame University
    * 1970-1976- President, Notre Dame University, Cotabato City
    * 1973-1975- Chairman, Mindanao Educational Conference Planning Board
    * 1973-1976- President, Norte Dame Educational Association
    * 1977- Spiritual Director, Oblate House of Theology, Quezon City
    * 1977-1979- Parish Priest, Jolo Parish, Sulu
    * 1978-1979- Chairman, OMI Provincial Renewal Team
    * 1979-1980- Superior, Oblate House of Theology, Quezon City
    * 1980-1983- Bishop, Prelature of Kidapawan
    * 1983-1986- Bishop, Diocese of Kidapawan
    * 1984-1986- Member, CBCP Permanent Committee
    * 1984-1989- Member, CBCP Committee on Public Affairs
    * 1986-1998- Archbishop of Nueva Segovia
    * 1987-1993- Chairman, CBCP-ECSA
    * 1988-1993- Member, CBCP Permanent Committee
    * 1988-1993- Member, FABC-OHD
    * 1989-1991- National Co-Chairman, Bishops' Businessmen's Conference
    * 1990-1994- Member, Pontifical Council for Justice & Peace


    * 1970- Received Ford Foundation Travel and Study Grant to Indonesia
    * 1972- Invited to participate at OMI General Chapter, Rome
    * 1973- One of the Ten Outstanding Young Men of the Philippines, TOYM
    * 1973-1977- Set up Colleges of Nursing, Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Socio-Economic Research Center at Notre Dame University
    * 1980-1986- Defended & promoted justice and peace issues, grassroots empowerment, and BEC's during Martial Law Years, Diocese of Kidapawan
    * 1983- Provided the idea to create the CBCP Public Affairs Committee
    * 1983 to present- Principal drafter of several CBCP Pastoral Letters and Statements
    * 1987- Initiated the pastoral vision-mission statement of the Archdiocese of Nueva Segovia to build BEC
    * 1991- Given Award of Appreciation at PCP-II as the Chairman of the Drafting Committee of the Acts and Decrees
    * 1992- Initiated a modified tithing system and abolished the arancel system in the Archdiocese of Nueva Segovia
    * 1993- Convoked and presidet over the 1st Nueva Segovia Pastoral Assembly to renew the Church in Nueva Segovia
    * 1994- Elected with the highest vote to membership in the General Council of the Secretariat of the Synod of Bishops, Rome

HOMECBCP News |   BishopsJurisdictions  |  Commissions |
CBCP DocumentsContact CBCP | General Info